Honestly, I don’t know how to start this post without sounding too negative at once, but I cannot sugarcoat things and pretend that we had a nice experience dining at Bellini’s Italian Restaurant in Cubao Expo (formerly Marikina Shoe Expo). Bellini’s is totally disappointing! There, I said it—out loud, though virtually, to the world.

Anyway, the reason why we chose Bellini’s for lunch last Thursday was that there’s not many unique and specialty restaurants near SM Cubao, where we had meetings the entire day. My boss checked FourSquare and found Bellini’s. A mix of good and bad reviews were shared by customers through blogs. What’s up with the inconsistency? Ah, maybe timing is an important factor. If it’s so then our timing was definitely the worst. You’ll learn why below.

Review of Bellini’s Italian Restaurant (Cubao Expo, Quezon City)

Ambiance: ★★★★☆

No doubt, the ambiance in Bellini’s was enchanting, warm and fancy. Oozing with personality, the three separated dining areas in Bellini’s were nicely decorated with seemingly embossed European art-inspired murals that looked grand.

Contributing to the laid-back feel was the brick design and wine bottles arranged on the wall. The lights were dim, setting off a romantic mood for couples. Privacy and intimacy could best be enjoyed, as quietness reigned despite that the place wasn’t eerily empty during the peak of lunch hour.

Service: ★☆☆☆☆

I took a five-second moment to make myself comfortable, while still appreciating the interior design of the dining room. The waiter handed each of us a copy of Bellini’s menu. Before turning to the first page of the clear book folder, we were offered appetizers. The waiter suggested foccacia bread and quickly, we said okay (without knowing that it’s not complimentary).

My boss gestured that the owner of the restaurant, Signor Roberto Bellini, was seated right next to our table. When I turned to his direction to see, he greeted us in indistinct language which could be understood as either “welcome” or “hello” or “enjoy.” I said thanks, smiled and thought that was the end of our conversation. But then Roberto Bellini acted differently (wildly) when he saw that I took a shot of the first page of Bellini’s menu with my iPhone camera. He got mad and explained that taking pictures of the menu is not allowed. My boss said it’s for the blog, but Mr. Bellini shook his head and refused to accept the answer.

What’s the big deal? Is Bellini’s menu camera-shy? It was as if the ingredients, contents of their recipes and other precious secrets were all listed on the menu and we were taking them away to replicate for our own business. Wah lau! Their menu is far from being comprehensive; it contained only a listing of food names side by side the prices. After receiving the rather rude sermon, I thought… never mind, it’s not my lost. The “unwritten rule” is still a rule made by the owner and the least we do as customers is to abide by it, right? Oh well, moving on…

Side comment: I think menu pictures are useful to inform potential customers what the restaurant serves and help them make choices if they’re going in or not. Zomato has been doing this as it’s found very beneficial for the food establishments as well, in terms of marketing and publicity. Note that MunchPunch’s captured menu for online reference is outdated.

I felt pissed and offended when Mr. Bellini continued to talk about the issue with his Italian friend in Italian while we were waiting for food. Maybe he thought we would not understand, but I heard the keywords “blog,” “camera,” “photo,” and “menu” very clearly. Tsk tsk. That was very unethical.

I mean, everyone has the right to speak in the language they know best, but in this case, he was like stabbing me (a customer) on the back. He knew that we were there and he still went on. How impolite!

Aside from the ill attitude of the owner of Bellini’s Italian Restaurant, another bad feedback is that servers were not attentive. I had to stand up and go to the counter across the main door or look for service attendants around the dining room to call them.

Food: ★☆☆☆☆

For appetizers, we had the Bread Sticks and Foccacia Bread with Olive Oil which we thought were both for free. I learned later that the foccacia bread costs PHp 100. Usually, Italian restaurants serve these pieces as complimentary, right? The long bread sticks were almost tasteless, and I agree with a blog post which suggested that these bread sticks should not be touched unless one is super hungry. The foccacia bread was soft but not as warm as I expected.

We had to go back to work immediately, so to make sure that we get the best of Bellini’s in the shortest time, we obediently followed the staff’s house recommendations on pizza and pasta.

For pasta, we had the Pasta Cinghiale (PHp 400), which was not even on the menu. The waiter said this variant is special because it’s topped with a sauce of wild boar stewed in tomatoes. It’s almost a rarity since not many restaurants serve that same dish. Sadly, the wild boar pasta turned out to taste bland and the wild boar bits were hardly noticeable.

No herbs were present and the tomato-based sauce did not taste of ripe, juice tomatoes. There was no balance of acidity and sweetness as it tasted just bland and unappealing.

We also shared the Ravioli al Tartufo (PHp 270) which in plain English means Spinach and Ham Ravioli in Truffle Sauce. Out of the six pieces of raviolis on a plate, the fillings in two were cold and the rest was either hot or warm. What does this unevenness imply?

I’m thinking they were not made fresh from the kitchen but just taken from the refrigerator and then heated. Like the pasta, the tomato sauce used in the ravioli al tartufo did not taste good. It looked dull without the nice chunks of tomatoes. Compared to the quality and taste of raviolis by Bistro Ravioli, El Cangrejo, Balducci Ristorante and Deli and L’Opera Ristorante Italiano, Bellini’s raviolis were a let-down.

With thin and crisp crust, the Quattriza (PHp 610) consisted of these four flavors: cheese, veggies, sausages and anchovies. Each had its distinct taste but none was praise-worthy. I’d rather go to Pizza Hut, Shakey’s or Greenwich anytime.

Finally, our plates were taken out and red wine courtesy of Bellini’s was served to wash the food tastes all down. The red wine tasted like the standard red wine in our church during service minus the kick of alcohol. It tasted like sweet grape juice, a nice end to our meal. It might be the only thing that I liked.

Price for Value: ★☆☆☆☆

Sigh. I must admit, Bellini’s Italian Restaurant in Cubao Expo got the atmosphere right. However, with poor ratings on food and service, the expensive prices tagged on food are not worth their value. It’s easy to figure that this restaurant failed on multiple infractions. Needless to say, I won’t be going back for another terrible experience.

Cubao Expo, 68-69, Gen. Romulo St., Cubao, Quezon City
For inquiries, contact 9132550
Date Published: 02/28/2014
7 / 20 stars

Operating hours: 11:30am-11:00pm

About 

Health and technology freak. Food and lifestyle blogger with a large appetite for food and travel.

Related Posts

119 Responses

  1. rebecca

    So even though you wrote that the food was unappealing, it looked delicious except for the picture of the ravioli. Sorry you had such a bad experience. Where is this located? Cuabo? I don’t know where that is.

    Reply
  2. Itsberyllicious

    sad to hear about your experience 🙁 I was surprised about the menu incident.. just dined there last December and was able to take photos of their menu.. The owner was actually there.. maybe he didn’t see me.. hehe! As for the food I liked what we ordered naman.. except for the fish the waiter recommended.. it was pricey but taste was just ok.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      This quaint restaurant has been serving customers since 1999. It had won lots of accolades from patrons so I guess our timing and placement in the room were just off. It was an ordinary day though. Hmmm anyway, thanks for the concern, Beryl. 😀

      Reply
      • Stacy |tsinoyfoodies

        Dined there with berylle and true I got a pic of the menu with matching flash pa. They didn’t seem to mind. We enjoyed our meal too except for the overpriced seabass which was not the seabass we expected…

  3. Willa @ The Food Blogger

    So rude namn ng owner,he could’ve just said no picture taking in aa nice way and move on instead of tattle telling you to his friends as if you’re not there. With that kind of attitude,no wonder,his food is as lousy as his.
    Thanks for this review,I’m just one customer (with many friends) that they could cross off their list.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Yes, that’s an alarming issue for sure. I forgot to mention that the owner tried a “gentlemanly move” afterwards when he offered to have my bag placed on the chair instead of on my lap. I told him it’s fine where it was. Later, two new customers were led to their seats and he asked for the same thing. The girls did not bother and they were as well shocked by the sudden approach (of a stranger). At one glance, of course, you wouldn’t know that it’s the owner or someone who works in the restaurant.

      Thanks for the trust, Willa. Really appreciate it.

      Reply
  4. Patty | MrsC

    I had dinner there with family some time in October. I found everything to be so-so, which was a disappointment because the one who chose the restaurant as our venue was totally raving about the food and the place. I dunno, maybe it’s a matter of preference, but I didn’t enjoy my meal there much either. But at least none of it was cold. Yours was a really horrible lunch experience. And oh, the breadsticks were so bad, I totally agree.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      So much for the raves but Bellini’s doesn’t really deserve the hype it gets. It was a crying shame the way the food was presented. As for the bread sticks, I thought the Yan Yan breadsticks or the Breadsticks sold in packages in our local grocery stores are way better. Thanks for the agreement. Now I know I’m not alone.

      Reply
  5. Mindy

    Wow, that was some RUDE owner you got there! Geez!!! I got mad just reading about your experience there zzz. I’m very hot blooded, i can’t imagine how i’d react if i were you, i might start bitching really loudly (but then again you were with your boss so i think that’s be impossible, ya? haha)! I got really mad at a waitress because she told us that we cannot use our camera “Just use your camera phone!” after we took COUNTLESS shots downstairs, in front of the owner and a lot of other waitresses. I guess i wouldn’t be so angry if she said it in an apologetic manner instead of being a total bitch about it. Needless to say, i won’t be going back either (the food was nothing to praise about either).

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Yeah, you are smart to analyze it that way. If my boss and my other workmate were not there and if I were with my mom or sister, I would have reacted differently. Maybe I will use the 5 why technique in tracking down the reasons why taking photos is prohibited. Customer service counts a lot so if it sucks and everything else was just right, the restaurant is not worth going a trip for.

      Reply
  6. Aki Libo-on

    Meh! Offering a dish without clarifying that it’s not complimentary is already a red flag. And, sigh, I can’t help but feel disappointed with how the owner acted. I mean, he’s the owner for Pete’s sake! He could’ve told you nicely that taking photographs of the menu is prohibited. *shakes head*

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Yup, I wished he acted friendlier. He has been doing business since 1999 so I wonder how and why he still does not know how to act in a rather “political” manner when facing with customers.

      Reply
  7. helloiamprince

    Haha! I’m sorry to say this but quite honestly, your unfortunate experience is so amusing. Too bad the first impression didn’t last. A restaurant should be famous for the food, right? Though the interior design adds an impression, people go there for food. And the camera-shy menu? That’s so funny! I wonder what made the owner so guarded. Haha! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Thanks for recognizing. I did want the story to sound amusing so readers would continue to read and not feel bored until they get the gist at the end of the post. Giving out info like this does not need to be serious with writing style and the choice of words all the time. You’re welcome!

      Reply
  8. Scarlet

    The ambiance looks really amazing and the food looks mouth-watering but after reading the complete article I only conclude that everything that glitters is not gold

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      You would never expect to find this kind of place in Cubao Expo. We had lots of hope for this restaurant but were completed disappointed. This is a lesson to be careful what you expect to get when you order.

      Reply
  9. Camille Aguila

    I’ve been here too with my friends and that was because the place is really eye-catching. I agree with you. The food is too expensive for the taste. I understand that it’s Italian and so it will be priced a bit higher than fastfood chains but I have tasted pastas and pizzas of cheaper price but better.

    Sorry for the phone incident. It was his lost after all.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      I agree. There are lots of other food joints offering better Italian food – not dirt-cheap but not so expensive like Bellini’s. Thanks for the empathy! 😀

      Reply
  10. slickmaster

    Sometimes, the real thing is… what seems to be beautified on the outside, is in contrary in the inside. I mean, based on your review here, it seems the ambiance or atmosphere makes up on what seemed to be ugly on the inside (counting the rude behavior of the owner, food, and include price right there)

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Yeah. We thought the food listing on the menu was able to convince us that Bellini’s has got a great deal of creativity leading to some very novel interpretations. However, that thinking just stopped at our first bite of the food. They were all “meh.” It must have been fate when we met the owner. True colors are seen.

      Reply
  11. Rhea Bue

    I’ve been here already.. 🙂 super nice ng place.. really makes me feel like taping ulit nung One More Chance.. wahahahaa :)) I super love their house wine <3 🙂

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      The place interior and the house wine are all good. The others? Not so good. I haven’t watched the movie “One More Chance” so I wonder which scenes were taken from this restaurant.

      Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      The service and the food both don’t have much promise. If you’re a city dweller, making a trip to experience Bellini’s take on Italian pasta and pizza may be crossed out of the list. You won’t miss a lot. There are options closer to home which are better.

      Reply
  12. Alyssa (@heyitsalyssayu)

    So sad that there are restaurants like this. And the owner was just plain rude. Thanks for writing an honest review!

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      You’re welcome. Still, this is just my opinion. There are people who enjoy Bellini’s food and I don’t question them. Everyone has his/her own liking so there’s no stopping others to dine in this restaurant.

      Reply
  13. Erwin @ MyWealthyJourney.com

    First of all I like to say sorry for the bad experienced in that restaurant. I think this is a cultural difference we had with european. Me with my family are expatriates here in France and I can see similar issues you have with this restaurant but the only different is that this kind of practice is normal here in european countries. People here doesn’t want to take photos on the restaurants. I remember first restaurant experienced I had together with my french colleagues, I tried to take a photo on my food (for Facebook pleasure lol) then I suddenly noticed my colleague is all looking at me and asked me why do I need to take photo on my food. So for them its something disrespectful.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Oh, thanks for your clarification. I know that some classy (high-end) restaurants don’t allow taking photos even of their food. So I respect that. As mentioned, what really got me mad was the trash-talking that we overheard while we were sitting just beside them. Ugh. I don’t know what’s the excuse this time.

      Reply
  14. Algene

    I’m just wondering what made you say na their dishes don’t taste good? I saw one of your comments kasi 🙂 Though they all look appealing!

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Yup haha “look” is different from “taste.” For instance, the noodles were gummy and dense but the sauce and flavor were not in duet. It takes one to really go to the restaurant and try their pasta to see and realize what I’m saying. 😛

      Reply
  15. dimaks

    For the sake of experience, I might try eating at Bellini’s and maybe spur a little bit of attention to take photos, specially the menu 🙂 Well, yes, maybe it’s a culture thing why he didn’t like seeing you taking photographs.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Sure, you can get your hands on Bellini’s food anytime. Don’t let this review give you the slip. Hehe this was a record of my observation and views summing up to my experience. 🙂

      Reply
  16. Pepe Samson

    Aw. I feel sorry you had such a lousy time. I’ve been to Bellini’s multiple times — latest one last week — and had awesome if not stellar experiences. The tartufo con prosciutto is their best, desserts are good too. And Mr. Roberto was very gracious all these time, but yes he also forbade me to take a pic of the menu. I disagree on the “expensive” part though. And the comparison with Shakeys and Pizza Hut. 🙂

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Thanks, Pepe, for sharing your thoughts. I guess Bellini’s has a strong balance of good and bad reps. It’s just a matter of knowing in which category you fall (good customer satisfaction or the opposite). I saw Mr. Roberto smiling and laughing in photos in blogs so I for one was shocked he acted that way in our encounter. The food here won’t be considered as “super expensive” if quality of taste passed our taste test. However, it lacked the flavor and oomph we were expecting.

      Reply
  17. Sol Felice

    Looks like Bellinis failed to maintain it’s quality. I have dined there years ago and the food was at par with all the rave. Add to that is the change in Mr. Bellini’s attitude towards bloggers specifically food bloggers. Years ago you would always see him in people’s blogs- all smiles and hospitable. But what happened is just rude… really.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      A blogger friend has asked him if he’s willing to interact with bloggers and welcome them in his restaurant. “What blog?” He was in negation of the idea. Something has really changed. People change all the time. It’s okay.

      Reply
  18. theresa

    That’s just quite a terrible experience I should say. If only their food was great to cover their attitude in treating customers, but it wasn’t even. It really is a lesson to everyone in the food business to treat your customers happy with your service.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Exactly. Being in the food industry for so long does not mean that one should just be so confident in running the business that small details are missed. Every day, challenges are to be met. The end goal is not to earn money but to delight both old and new customers to keep a good name and leave a great legacy for all.

      Reply
  19. Kathy Lacuna

    I heard about Bellini’s last year from a friend who said that the place was ok. Too bad you had a no-so-pleasant experience with them.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Bellini’s has a strong presence in Cubao Expo area. It also might have left a good impact on Italian cuisine in the Philippines but not on me.

      Reply
  20. Hershey

    am surprised with the incident with the owner.While I was reading your post, I thought that you will talk about how hospitable he because our past experience with the owner was actually quite funny, he sang right in front of us!

    Reply
  21. leira

    That is the worst thing for me the service and the food..Good for you that you blogged about it so others will be informed.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      I have never imagined the situation to be like that. It’s good as well that I had my workmates as company, else if my mom was there, people in the restaurant would not hear the end of rants about the talk-back, the inattentive staff, the lack of flavor of food and the overpriced items.

      Reply
  22. Fernando Lachica

    The interior really looks Italian and the ambiance’s superb I think. Likewise, the food looks yummy. Well, a nice place to dine indeed!

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      The looks of food and restaurant interior design including the vibes were once promising indications of things to come. In this instance, you should dig in deeper to discover what lies behind.

      Reply
      • jean hernandez

        I also had an experience with Bellini’s (6 years ago and we never went back)… The staffs were super nice and very attentive if you were a celebrity.. (maam Rita Avila and maam Marian Rivera sat next to our table)..otherwise, they treat you indifferently…

        I think SenoR Bellini was having a “bad hair day” when you went to his restaurant…maybe if you introduce yourself and act “celebrity”… they’ll be very attentive and they’ll even let you sign on their platters (hanging by the wall)

        good luck on your next encounter with Senor Bellini and his “starstruck” staffs..

        i’ll be following your food blogs… 🙂

      • Rochkirstin Santos

        Haha, thanks for the suggestion, Jean. If I knew that earlier, I should have said I’m an actress from Taiwan or some Chinese country. 😛

        Yup I noticed that their chairs are labeled with names of celebrities and media personalities at the back. I was seated on Jessica Soho’s chair!

  23. Jonas Labagala

    What a bad experience! 🙁

    The food doesn’t look appetizing enough and you reminded me of Kitchen Nightmares by Gordon Ramsay that features restaurants that are in a brink of closing down.

    With that kind of attitude, service and food, I doubt if they’ll last long. Tsk tsk tsk..

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      This is one of those unique stories that induces the strange feeling of wanting to laugh because of awkward feeling or putting your head in your hands at the same time. Oh, Kitchen Nightmares – I haven’t seen an episode but I can already imagine how it’s like.

      Reply
  24. Sky | Boundfortwo.com

    I applaud you Kirstin for keeping your cool over a ruckus with the owner. They should post a board “Pictures are not allowed” this could have save customers from being verbally mauled.

    Anyway, he will lost customers and probably close his shop if this is constant treatment he serve.

    Raviolo looks like a leftover to me promise, it looks awful and not visually stimulating.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Thanks, Sky. You’re right – posting a signboard warning customers about the photo-taking rule is a good idea.
      Overall, the entire meal was unremarkable. With so many other restaurant options in malls in Cubao, I don’t think I could be convinced to go back to Bellini’s.

      Reply
  25. marri

    I wonder why this kind of people exist in food industry. Restaurant owners should know better about customer satisfaction and courtesy is one of their significant trait aside from the quality of food they serve.

    Anyways, just charge it to experience.

    Reply
      • Rochkirstin Santos

        Yeah, I can accept a restaurant more if it’s able to present great customer service and quality of food rather than the opposite like this. An average ambiance may be set aside if the food just wows me like it’s over-the-top delicious.

  26. Pal Raine

    Very well said sis Roch, they deserved it. Good Service + Quality Food just like I said in my post they go together. If they are lacking these both they will not stay long with this kind of business.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Yup – and to think, we have already asked for the BEST. So if we were served with the BEST-sellers and the best of their menu, I don’t know how to rate the rest of their food on the menu. 😐

      Reply
  27. NocturnalReader

    I actually like to know the price list of the menu before going to a restaurant so I know the budget line especially if I will be dining with my whole family.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Me too. That is a core reason why I always like to share the prices of food we eat and what’s available in the restaurant. As a restaurant diner myself, I would want a sneak peek of the menu so I can prepare a budget for our meal.

      Reply
  28. Mommy Levy

    The ambiance looks relaxing, but I don’t like what the owner did to you. I can’t find any problems with taking pictures of the menu. Are they hiding something?

    Reply
  29. Genzel

    Ohhh my goodness, that’s just so rude. Grabe may ari pa man din siya -____________- and true, the photos of the foods you ordered are like “bleh” for the price. Tsk, they really should improve kasi walang babalik na na customers.

    Reply
  30. Lornajane

    Probably picture taking is a big no-no since they want their resto and menu a “secret.” It makes it more intriguing to go to a place with no pic before 🙂

    Reply
  31. Algene

    Gosh! I want to try the Pasta Cinghiale! I always have a thing for pasta dishes kasi and I always order one whenever I go restaurant hopping with my friends 🙂 I hope I can visit this place someday!

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Yup, it’s good to visit once. Try restaurant-hopping in Cubao Expo. There are other restaurants across and also beside Bellini’s that may be worth your trip.

      Reply
  32. Nami

    Sorry to hear about your experience. My boyfriend and I tried this restaurant on a rainy evening. A lot of people were raving about it and so one day, we decided to give it a try.
    I forgot what we ordered, but basically it was just a plate of pasta for each of us.
    The waiter offered the foccacia bread too, I thought it was just like at Italianni’s where the bread was free and served with olive oil+balsamic vinegar. Good thing I asked, “is it for free?” he hesitated to answer at first, then whispered yes.
    The pasta was al dente. But the sauce is nothing spectacular. I believe I can whip up a better tasting pasta dish than the one I had here.
    I don’t know if it had anything to do with the rainy weather, but I tried my best not to freak out when I spotted a cockroach scurrying on the floor. Because the area was dim, I think I was the only one who noticed.
    I found the pasta a bit expensive and the price was not worth it. I wish we could’ve gone to The Old Spaghetti House instead. 🙁

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Hey Nami, thanks for sharing your experience here. It would most benefit the readers to know about the restaurant. I wonder why he whispered and did not confidently answer your question. That’s funny. Oh well, if anything, I’m sure that the food really didn’t taste good and that they are expensively priced. Yup, TOSH is a better option. 😛

      Reply
  33. Jumpshop blogspot

    Poor thing. You might want them to give a second chance since I am an entrepreneur as well and it might just have been a bad day for them as well. Looking the other side of it.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Second chance? Maybe next time – years from now, maybe then their service and food quality would have improved. I’ve already shared this review on their Facebook page but received no acknowledgement from there. A “Like” could have implied that they’ve read and will take action about it. I’m still waiting for their response.

      Reply
  34. jane

    wow. I have taken some photos as well of the menu to many restaurants but Never I have experience any one told me not to take pictures. and yes it is true that italian restaurants serve complimentary/free bread. awesome review here rochkirstin!

    Reply
  35. ivy frances

    Hi Roch! Great to bump at yah here! Thanks for sharing huh, I thought of taking mom here for dinner today but with your review, am backing off. Any of their pizzas you’d recommend?

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Hi Ivy! Haha you’re welcome. Pizzas by Bellini’s I recommend? Sorry, I don’t think I’m the right person to answer that since this was the only pizza we’ve tried (with various flavors). I suggest you take your mom to other pizza stalls instead. L’Opera Ristorante in BGC (Fort Strip) is a good option. 🙂

      Reply
  36. Heidi Ong

    Hello! Too bad you had to experience that.

    I’m concerned though. Since you’re a blogger wannabe, you might have to work on your grammar and sentence construction. Ciao.

    Reply
  37. hellosushi

    i find this blog very informative and truly well written. keep it up, rochkirstin!

    Reply
  38. Roxy

    I’m also very disappointed with Bellini’s. My boyfriend and I dined here last Sunday (Valentines Dinner) and this restaurant didn’t live up to the expectations. Here’s the summary of the bad experience we had:
    – The waiters got our orders wrong
    – We had to ask for table napkins thrice. It’s very hard to get their attention
    – The food tasted like it was cooked hours before
    – The dessert we ordered got out of stock so they gave us a different one. Few minutes after, we saw other couple being served with the dessert we wanted
    – Waiting time per course is 10 to 20 minutes
    – For the service you’ll get, 1900 is very expensive and definitely not a good value.

    After our dinner, we concluded that we will never go back there and headed to Nihonbashitei.

    Total Score: 1 out 5

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      Thanks for sharing your experience here. People will get to learn more and decide whether or not to dine in here. Hope that Bellini’s management will do something about it.

      Reply
  39. dhez

    i agree with you that the owner is rude and her wife too.. it was my 1st training day..nka2stress na day for me kasi i need to be familiarize sa menu then pati mga owners parang need palagi iplease.. i was told to served customers that day too,i was confident kasi im proud say na npakaganda ng training ko sa prev work ko (italiannis).. pinaka rude and nkakaoffend na experience ko nung sabihan ako ng wife ng owner sa madlang staff na “ang oily ng face mo,used powder..we’re having lunch break that time..i was shocked and red face..i mean i got an oily face because i’d worked alot na so di nako nkaretouch she has the point pero ung parang gumamit ng mega phone…hayy grabeh..sya na maganda at makinis…the training is very informal kaya cguro hindi attentive mga servers except with kuya na can speak italian…unforgetable exp how rude they are…im working now in an italian restaurant sa uae…gusto ko.bumalik at mag dine in sa vacation q..gusto q lng makita ung queen chef nila…qng mukha naba syang artista hehe..anyways,nice blog sis :)..

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      When you first begin a job, training can be quite stressful and challenging. Having someone near you, coaching you, can be great support. Not having pleasant owners just adds on to the pressure of the demanding process. I feel you, Dhez, and I’m glad that you have finally found your way out. Thanks. 🙂

      Reply
  40. ladolcevita

    sorry to hear that your experince was appalling but did you actually check what you were getting? i mean you shouldve at the least googled your food since you have the iphone, and yes it is really “NOT YOUR LOST” that you did not even ask whats free and what are you putting in your mouth.. piece of advice: know what you’re getting, so you wont ever end up dissappointed

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      There was no post entry that could have told about the menu items that we ordered. The staff was the one who recommended these items but sadly, they were not at par with our expectations. I have also so many friends who were upset about their dining experience in this restaurant.

      Reply
  41. Marian Logan

    Its sad that you had a bad experience there.

    Anyway, the first time I ate there was in 2010 and it was one of the best Italian resto I’ve been. Maybe somehow the service changed over time. I am just browsing today and ended up reading your blog. I am planning to eat there again soon and I’m hoping for a better dining experience.

    Trivia: Bellini’s is where “One More Chance” shoot their barkada weekly dinner.

    Reply
  42. Jolly Tilo

    I ate there! It was good. I don’t know but are you a Food Critic?
    I think you said the food is a so-so because you were treated. Judge fairly. Or maybe you are not familiar with an authentic Italian cuisine. I suggest you just eat to Jollibee next time if you are not open with other cuisine.

    Reply
    • Rochkirstin Santos

      I’m writing only to share what we experienced and how we thought the food fared. Yes, I judged based on different elements (ambiance, service, food and price for value).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.